Assassin’s Creed IV goes to piracy

ACIV-cover

The next installment of Ubisoft‘s Assassin’s Creed series, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag, was announced a few weeks ago. It was a surprising announcement from Ubisoft. In the grand scheme of gaming developers, most game sequels take about 2-3 years to create, develop and release.

1362673629_assassin-s-creed-4-black-flag-screen-4-jeuxcapt

In Black Flag, just like the other games in the series will have you play two stories of the same coin, past and present. In the present day, you play as an Abstergo agent brought in solely to investigate Desmond Miles memories. In the past, you play as Edward Kenway, a notorious pirate and privateer and a member of the Assassin Order. Edward Kenway is also the father of Haythem Kenway and grandfather of Ratonhnhaké:ton or Connor Davenport from Assassin’s Creed 3.

assassins-creed-iv-black-flag-Blackbeard

As is the normalcy of these games and their historic points intertwined in the plot, the player will meet a few characters notoriously known in their time. In Black Flag, the player will meet notorious pirate Blackbeard, Benjamin Hornigold, Anne Bonny, Calico Jack and Charles Vane.

Assassins-Creed-4-Black-Flag-sunset-in-paradise

Black Flag will feature an expansive open world with three major cities, Havana, Kingston and Nassau. Theses cities will feature your average run of the mill Assassin’s Creed cities, meaning all the free-running, building climbing you could want. As well as the cities, the game will also feature 50 explorable islands with many mysteries and great treasures. In past Assassin’s Creed games, they say you have an open world to explore but it’s not necessarily true. Black Flag will have a more open world feel, as well as fewer restrictions on the player.

Assassins-Creed-4-Black-Flag-Naval-Combat

The game will feature a 60/40 land to sea ratio for exploration. Ranging from exploring an old abandoned lighthouse to traveling into unfriendly waters. You can expect more of everyone’s favorite thing from Assassin’s Creed 3, ship battles. It is definitely one of my favorite parts of AC3. I think the only thing Ubisoft could do better, besides making more missions, is to add the random wave generator from Uncharted 3. The wave generator produces synthetic, dynamic, game-changing waves; no two waves come at the ship the same.

I think we can expect an interesting multiplayer experience. Ubisoft would be dumb to not include the very popular online game modes like Manhunt and Wanted; but with the expansion of the naval system, I think we can expect epic ship battles in our future.

Overall, I am extremely excited for this game. First reason being the swiftness with creating and getting the game out to the fans. Second being that Ubisoft has improved on my favorite missions, the naval missions. I also think it is really awesome that in Black Flag, the player will be able to go the many small islands of the Caribbean and explore them.

Assassin’s Creed Black Flag will be released October 29, 2013 and on PC December 31, 2013. This is a game you definitely do not want to miss, get out there a pre-order it.

About sandpaper623

My name is Alex Wark. I’m 25 and from Nashville, Tn. I’m just living my life the best way I can. I have two passions in life; God and Video Games. 2 sports mean everything else to me, Hockey and Basketball. My teams... Nashville Predators and Oklahoma City Thunder.

Posted on March 28, 2013, in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I have quite a few friends that I know will be very excited for this game! I’ve never really played games before, so I know little about them, but everything that I do know I learned from listening to them talk about them in class. Assassin’s Creed was always one they mentioned.

  2. Wow I had no idea about any of this! I have never played video games but this sounds really interesting. I can’t believe all of this information has already been released! Hope it’s great when it comes out!

  3. I love that someone is doing a blog about video games. This is not my favorite style for video games because I am not really into assassin’s creed. This is still a great post.

  4. Assassin’s Creed is one of my favorite PS3 games, especially AC3. This looks like it will be very cool.

  1. Pingback: Assassin’s Creed 3 in Review | Floofy Gamer

Leave a comment