PS4 price leak

There have been some leaked rumors of the price for the PS4. PlayStation is saying they want to keep the price under $500. Murad Ahmed, a Technology Reporter from The Times, has claimed he has internal sources at Sony and has been told that the PS4 will released at about £300, more than £100 cheaper than the starting cost of its predecessor, the PlayStation 3. £300 translates to about $465.63 if you live in America, which is significantly less expensive than the $600 price tag that was originally attached to the PlayStation 3. However, $465.63 isn’t a very photogenic number, so we’ll probably see Sony knock the price down to $450.00 for advertising purposes.

Earlier this month, though, a Japanese newspaper called Asahi Shimbun placed the PS4’s purchase price at 40,000 yen, which is about $430. At the moment, there’s no way to tell which number is more accurate. So, just to be safe, you should probably plan on $465.63.

This has definitely got me excited. I remember I saved up my money for a year and a half for the first PS3 when it released. The total cost of my PS3 with a game was about $655 and that was just for the most basic model. It was another $100 added onto the higher memory consoles. The fact that Sony is purposely keeping the price under $500 says a lot about their views on why electronics are too expensive. If the next generation Xbox and Wii consoles are going to stay in competition with Sony, Microsoft and Nintendo will have to follow suit.

Question: Considering these prices are not confirmed by Sony, what are your thoughts on what the price should be?

 

About sandpaper623

My name is Alex Wark. I’m 25 and from Nashville, Tn. I’m just living my life the best way I can. I have two passions in life; God and Video Games. 2 sports mean everything else to me, Hockey and Basketball. My teams... Nashville Predators and Oklahoma City Thunder.

Posted on February 28, 2013, in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I had heard about the new PS4. My son came to me about it wanting it. I just bought him the PS3. It is nice to see they realized that electronics are so expensive,but 465$ is still to expensive for the way the economy is now. Great post and I honestly liked it.

  2. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i’m happy to
    exhibit that I have a very just right uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed.
    I so much indisputably will make certain to don?t disregard this web site and
    give it a look on a continuing basis.

  3. Hey There. I found your blog the usage of msn. That is a
    really smartly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

Leave a Reply

