The Last of Us or new beginnings

TheLastofUs_feature

The Last of Us is a 3rd-person, survival horror, action-adventure releasing May 7th, 2013 exclusively for the PlayStation 3. You control Joel, the older male, who is protecting your friend Ellie, who is controlled by the AI. You fight former humans, who have been infected, and other survivors trying to stay alive. Naughty Dog’s new gameplay mechanic is a feature the developers call “dynamic stealth”, meaning that there are many different types of strategies and techniques that the player can use at any given time as they approach a new situation, to which enemies will react differently. Though situations can have a different outcome, it all mainly depends on the player’s preference of play.

The plot is as follows: The story is set two decades after a Cordyceps-type fungus has killed millions, with nature gradually retaking the abandoned cities and towns. The survivors are hemmed inside quarantine zones, completely under the heel of the United States military, with order and screening for any Infected being viciously maintained under martial law. Joel, a hardened black-marketeer within one of the quarantine zones, goes through an event which makes him promise an old friend that he will get a young girl, Ellie, away from the harsh regime. They begin a journey through the USA, avoiding the Infected, humanoid creatures whose sole aim has become spreading the fungal infection, and scavengers that survive outside the quarantine zones who see Joel and Ellie as their latest prey. But, added to their problems, the military are determined to find Ellie and bring her back under their power.

This gameplay footage was teased at the E3 2012 conference. This was shown when there wasn’t much known about the game except for its name. The cool thing about the game I noticed just from this teaser gameplay, is that everything you do can affect your gameplay experience. If you have alcohol and some cloths, you can save them for medicine and bandages but if there are hordes of enemies in your way, a well tossed Malatov Cocktail could be a good option when you have no ammo. By using that bomb, you won’t be able to heal yourself in a time of need.

In an interview with Naughty Dog’s creators after this teaser was shown, he explained that there were about 10 different ways that you could have gone through that area of the game. It’s pretty incredible that developers are finally putting complete control of your character’s destiny into the player’s hands. All I know is this is going to be an incredible game, and I cannot wait for it to be released May 7th, 2013.

About sandpaper623

My name is Alex Wark. I’m 25 and from Nashville, Tn. I’m just living my life the best way I can. I have two passions in life; God and Video Games. 2 sports mean everything else to me, Hockey and Basketball. My teams... Nashville Predators and Oklahoma City Thunder.

Posted on February 6, 2013, in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This sounds like a really neat game! I find one’s with storyline plots to be way more interesting and fun to play. I also have a thing for post-apocalyptic themes in anything.

  2. I have never really been one for video games, but I really enjoyed the way you described the games. You had a lot of detail which helped me better understand the storyline and how the game works! The videos and pictures were also helpful! Good job!

  3. Wow – this sounds so exciting. I love how the outcomes are all so varied and that even the smallest things affect the ending. Great post!

  4. Video games have come so far! Back when I was younger, I thought poke’mon was the coolest game ever and that it would never be beaten, but I was wrong!

  5. I don’t really ever play video games, but this one sounds really interesting. You did a great job describing it and explaining the storyline. The game actually sounds pretty fun!

  6. I suck at video games, but I think that I would persuade my brother to buy this so I can try it out anyhow! It sounds cool with an even cooler plot.

Leave a Reply

